Bathsheba's Bioform

Discussion in 'My Shapeways Order Arrived' started by dadrummond, Sep 23, 2009.

1. dadrummond
    dadrummond Member
    Hi all -- My first prints arrived. I'm trying to get a feel for what's possible as I work on my own designs (read: draw lots of flowing biological designs on paper, and then make shipping crates of various sizes in Blender). As I'm a biologist, I thought it would be cool to display Bathsheba's Bioform piece on my desk in an attempt to ensnare colleagues into either a discussion of 3D printing or, better yet, misguided attempts to name the species that owned this little shell/skeleton.

I had Bioform printed in limestone look strong & flexible (LLSF?). Here are some photos from my crappy built-in camera (sorry, it's all I've got for the moment). The piece is everything I hoped for, a near-perfect print of a sweet little sculpture that is very satisfying to handle and stare at from any direction.

bioform1.jpg bioform2.jpg

I like positioning it "upside down" (at least relative to the pictures in Bathsheba's shop), which gives the piece a rather predatory aspect.

bioform3.jpg

If I printed this piece again, I'd print it in WSF, and perhaps tea-stain it, as the limestone color doesn't quite match the bony shape. The pictures above are sepia-toned; here's a color shot.

bioform4.jpg

Props to Bathsheba for a lovely design, and to Shapeways for artistry that covers its own tracks.

Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  2. Whystler
    Whystler Member

It surely is a lovely design! I would agree with you that the limestone is probably a little grey for your needs.

But, I will also caution you about tea staining. It works very nicely on the white detail material, but it doesn't adhere well to the SWF material at all.

So, if you order the piece for tea dying, make sure you order it in the White Detail, if possible.