Frosted Ultra Detail Painting. HELP!

Discussion in 'Finishing Techniques' started by ShadowStorm93, Nov 21, 2012.

1. ShadowStorm93
    ShadowStorm93 Member
    Hi,

I received my shipment of Shapeways models and used acrylic type paint, it failed miserably lucky I was able to remove them. It won't stick to the surface, it can be easily be removed. What am I doing wrong?

Can someone please please tell me the step how to paint a FUD model starting from taking the object out of the box. It's my first time and my budget is very short.

Cleaning- What is the best way?

Primer- what kind is the best for tiny models?

Paint- I would like to have semi-gloss type. Not too flat or too shiny, what is the best brand?

Please help! I don't want to screw up even more on my models. :(

[​IMG]

The model size is about the size of a pencil, but 5cm long.

2. GWMT
    GWMT Active Member
    Nice! Is that an SD70tiny? :D

How did you clean the model before painting? I use pure acetone (the cheapest nail polish remover I can find). Here's how I do it:

https://www.shapeways.com/forum/index.php?t=msg&th=9179&a mp;start=0&

When FUD is dry after the acetone bath it should take acrylic paint with no peeling afterwards. I've brush painted and airbrushed acrylic onto FUD; one thing I always do is to 'bake' the paint onto the FUD for several minutes with a hair dryer or a 100 watt incandescent bulb. Hold the part in your hand to make sure it doesn't get too much heat.

I find the paint adheres much better after heating; Fifteen minutes after it's painted and heated I can mask it to spray another color with no lifting when the tape's removed.

3. ShadowStorm93
    ShadowStorm93 Member
    Thank you soo much! I will go ahead and try this, I will keep this thread updated and try painting again!

Yes it is a SD70M train! I am making one for a T gauge layout that I am working on. Scale 1:450