Rhodium or Silver

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Arcathorn, Feb 6, 2015.

1. Arcathorn
    Arcathorn Member
    This might seem like a silly question...but what im wondering is why you would choose Rhodium plated as opposed to silver?

The price difference is about the same and it would seem to me that a core of silver is still prefereable to a plated brass. Am I the only one confused on this? Why would you choose that over Silver?

I am very glad to see the other choices I am just curious to the thought process behind this?

2. PennyCharmer
    PennyCharmer Member
    I'm still learning about.. well.. everything.. but my understanding is that Rhodium is both a more expensive metal than silver and also a whiter metal than silver. So, you might choose to use Rhodium over silver for the status or for the aesthetic.

3. Daphne
    Daphne Well-Known Member
    There is indeed a small difference in appearance. I ordered a rhodium coated ring once from a competitor, and it was a bit brighter. But the coating were off within 3 weeks on the inside. So only silver for me.

4. mkroeker
    mkroeker Well-Known Member
    Rhodium will not tarnish under normal conditions.

5. J999
    J999 Member
    The best way is Sterling Silver + Rhodium plated, but Shapeways doesn't offer this soluton and It's a real pity.
    Anyway I prefer to spend my money for a noble metal like Silver and not with Brass + Rhodium Plated (0.5 micron).
    In my opinion

6. jardar
    jardar Member
    0.5 µm plating wears off, silver tarnishes. Regarding looks - not necessarily such a big difference:

[​IMG]

One on the left is premium silver, middle is rhodium plated (it arrived today!) and on the right... ten pence, nickel plated. :)

7. J999
    J999 Member
    Rhodium plated, in my opinion is useless with the brass. The ideal is silver with rhodium plating.

8. mkroeker
    mkroeker Well-Known Member