Need Help With Google Anlytics Ga4 Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PunchyTheDog, Dec 19, 2022.

1. PunchyTheDog
    PunchyTheDog Member
    Does anyone know how to setup their Shapeways shop with the new Google Analytics 4 (GA4) tag?

I've been using Google analytics for many years and I enjoy the insights they provide. I've been getting emails saying Google they will be moving on to their new Google Analytics 4 platform and shutting down their old one. With the change, you get a new Measurement ID to use with your store. Unfortunately, when I try to add the new ID to my store, it does not match the same format that the shop settings page requires. The old Measurement ID is formatted like this: UA-XXXXXX-X. The new ID is formatted like this: G-XXXXXXXXXX.

Does anyone have a solution?

2. kv3d
    kv3d Member
    Also I need solution for GA4 setup.

3. kv3d
    kv3d Member
    But it does not work in Shapeways.... response is this
    "Place your analytics code here. For example: UA-XXXXXX-X" does not accept G-XXXXXXX

4. hendie
    hendie Member
    DId you ever get this resolved? I am having the same issue. Everything appears to be okay on the Google Analytics end, but I just keep getting a message about no data collected.
    Anyone have any idea what's going on and how to fix it?

5. kv3d
    kv3d Member
    Hi,
    partly solved. I could enter the new format tag into shop settings.
    But dates not flowing to google analytics!

I contacted Shapeways again for this...

PunchyTheDog likes this.
  6. PunchyTheDog
    PunchyTheDog Member
    I looked at my site settings page today and I was able to update to the new Google Analytics Measurement ID starting with the letter G. I saved and refreshed and the new ID is saved in my shop settings. Please try again fellow shop owners.

I'll wait a few days to see if I am actually getting any data.

7. kv3d
    kv3d Member