Home » Community » 3D modeler needed » Anime CLAMP X sword in 1/3 scale
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Anime CLAMP X sword in 1/3 scale [message #47043] Mon, 16 April 2012 03:48 UTC Go to next message
avatar mosaicwolf  is currently offline mosaicwolf
Go to all my models
Hi there,

I am totally new to Shapeways, but I am hoping it can help make a much-wanted special item into a reality. I'm a doll collector, and I need two copies of a very unique and unusual sword that is depicted in the manga (comic) X by the artist group CLAMP. It will be 1/3 scale with a total length of about 52cm. I guess first of all I need to know if it's possible. Secondly, I need to commission someone to render it in a way that Shapeways can digest.

Here is the sword as depicted in the manga:

http://media.comicvine.com/uploads/0/1929/113441-129112-sacr ed-sword_large.JPG

http://static.zerochan.net/full/16/32/376616.jpg

And here is a truly amazing tutorial of how someone fabricated a full-sized version for cosplay that has excellent views of the details:

http://blindsquirrelprops.blogspot.com/2008/04/x1999-shinken -swords.html

I would be fully prepared to pay someone a reasonable fee for their time to help with this project. Would anyone out there be interested in taking it on?

Thanks!
Re: Anime CLAMP X sword in 1/3 scale [message #47044 is a reply to message #47043 ] Mon, 16 April 2012 04:45 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar stonysmith  is currently offline stonysmith
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
Two problems:
1) Shapeways is not allowed to produce weapons (NL government export restrictions).. I believe the current limit is 10cm for a knife-like object.
2) The only printer they currently have of producing something 52cm long is Stainless Steel. But at that length, ANY material is going to be very expensive due to the volume of material.