Trumpet

Discussion in 'My Work In Progress' started by 73663_deleted, Nov 11, 2011.

1. 73663_deleted
    73663_deleted Member
    Hi. I had a real blast learning how to make this trumpet. It doesn't yet have the pinky hold for the top of the trumpet or the sliders, Also the Pipes are made to be straighter than a real trumpet. Since I didn't want the trumpet blasting right away, it's got a built in mute. Actually, I tried to make the flare of horn hollowed out but Haven't learned how to do that yet.

I tried using Lathe tool in Lightwaver Modeler from newtek to make the horn flare hollow, and then hand sewing it together with make polygon tool to the body of trumpet. (after clearing out muted trumpet flare) it's still muted.

Still shapeways? auto muted 3d picture of being a trumpet.

Anyhow, hope you guys love this trumpet. It's my first attempt at making a miniature musical instrument. trumpet view .jpg

Any ideas or modeling advice is welcome for this is my first year modeling out of my own free time. And it was my first year that I was actually trying and willing to make a 3d miniature through use of these nerdy and geeky and what was once the edge of technological envelope pushing tools. But it's been useful. Their lighting (newtek) was actually much nicer looking using VPR earlier and now the lighting isn't showing. But here is my model.

Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  2. stop4stuff
    stop4stuff Well-Known Member
    Great work!

For some added inspiration, heres a couple of painted WSF baritone horns I made
    [​IMG]
    For the Polished WSF horn on the right, I used 2 coats of Tamiya Fine Surface printer followed by 2 coats of Humbrol Silver Acrylic, both are spray cans. The one on the left is plain WSF and dipped in diluted silver artists acrylic.

I also made a Flugel Horn, see my Musical Instruments write up in the It Arrived section.