Dye and paint on gearpunk dice

Discussion in 'My Work In Progress' started by TishToshTesh, Nov 9, 2011.

1. TishToshTesh
    TishToshTesh Member
    I'm simply looking for a little feedback on these. The black Rit dye I used wound up dying these WSF dice more of a dark brownish purple (which is fine, it's just not black), so the contrast with the bronze paint isn't as strong as it could be, but overall, I'm pretty happy with this as a first pass.

A question or two, though... could I have dyed these a second time to darken them? Also, I'm new to miniature painting... is there a sort of "patina" pass that I could apply on top of this to try to ground the look of the dye with the paint?

Thanks!

DiceDyedPainted.jpg

(White version over here: They Arrived!)

2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    These are WSF right? I'd check the post processing section but you should be able to dye it multiple times to make it darker. A true black dye is hard to make, as few things in nature are true black, which is why it's a dark purple color. To make life easier, next time order in BSF.

3. TishToshTesh
    TishToshTesh Member
    I thought about ordering them in black, but I wanted to see what the dyes did. Maybe next time I'll try a nice dark brown dye instead. Thanks!

Might be worth noting that the contrast is more apparent in different lighting (not direct sunlight)...

DyedPaintedGearpunkDice.JPG

Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  4. stannum
    stannum Well-Known Member