Splitting complex models

Discussion in 'Materials' started by TreadshotA1, May 13, 2011.

1. TreadshotA1
    TreadshotA1 Member
    Hey all!

I'm just getting into really serious modelling, and I'm about to finish up my first real, BIG print. Upwards of $200 big, and that's really big for a kid still mainly relying on pocket money. :laughing:

Anyways, it's a very complex robot, with lots of joints and the like, and it needs to be printed in, i'd guess ~100 small parts. if this was all jumbled up in one bag, and shipped to me, then it would be hell to build it, as figuring out what goes where would be a nightmare. So my question is, can I ask Shapeways to separately bag bits of it (the model would require more than one bag anyways, as it is so big and complex)? I'm more concerned with whether I can specify how to split it, like when you go to the supermarket and get things bagged in groups, meat, vegetables, etc. I want my model separated into certain parts when it's shipped, instead of just being split randomly.

Is this possible? Or would I have to split it into separate models (which obviously brings about more startup costs, and is a nuisance in general)?

*I'd link the model, but I'd much rather keep it private for the time being, until I have a working sample.

Edit: there is a screenshot of the robot in question here, but the specific parts aren't shown because, well, trade secrets are secrets. ;)

Last edited: May 13, 2011
  2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    Sounds like an awesome project! contact support to see what they can do to help. You could connect parts you want to stay together with a sprue that you can cut off when you get them.

3. TreadshotA1
    TreadshotA1 Member
    Yes, I have been asking around on a Transformers board, and some have mentioned sprues, but I have no idea of how to go about that? I don't know what diameter will both print, but be easy to break off when I get it.

4. Youknowwho4eva