Need advice and a 3D modeler

Discussion in '3D Design Requests' started by NF2TP, Sep 8, 2015.

1. NF2TP
    NF2TP Member
    I'm an artist who has created a set of four tools to use for needle felting. Currently I make these tools by casting them in resin in silicone molds. I've had to remake the molds a couple of times. I have to mix up more resin than I need for the tools so the resin will cure properly so there is always resin wasted with each casting. After casting, I have to clean up the tools. If the resin has been around for a while it stops mixing/curing properly. I really would like an alternative.

My market for these isn't large enough to tool up for injection molding, but it is growing. I'm wondering if 3D printing might be the solution, but I can't figure out how much it might cost to print a set of my tools. If the cost per set were about the same or cheaper than what it costs me to cast them in resin, I would definitely like to hire a 3D modeler to properly prepare files for printing. I can even ship them a set of tools and needles so they see in person what needs to be done.

All four tools are the same shape, what differs is the placement of the holes into which the felting needles are inserted. The holes have to be exactly the correct size to hold the needles in place. You can see from the attached photo roughly what size they are. These are solid except for the holes for the needles and also my name imprinted on the sides.

Jeanne

Attached Files:

2. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member