skullOrnate

Discussion in 'Feature this!' started by Hunchakabunkis, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Hello all, it was suggested that I post this here, I am not very good at self promotion so hopefully this will get the ball rolling. Let me know what you think.

-ANT

skullOrnate01_patina01.jpg

Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  2. Andrewsimonthomas
    Andrewsimonthomas Well-Known Member
    This is soo cool! thanks so much for sharing it with us here.

I know you've already been asked this elsewhere but it would be great if you could share a little bit about how you made it and what your plans are these designs.

What is your background as a 3D designer?

How did you design this model?

How did you add the patina?

Who are you interested in sharing your work, in what setting or context?

Thanks!!

3. Well thanks for the interest. This is my first small step in a long time to get back into fine arts and sculpture. I have been a 3d artist for quite a long time, but my first foray into rapid prototyping was my Master's thesis in Computer Art at School of Visual Arts in NYC. I had a bachelor of science in painting at the time and was quite annoyed with all the gallery snobs rolling their eyes when I told them I was studying computer art. Having worked for a sculptor, throwing his molds and doing his patinas, I decided to get a free Z-corp (corn starch) print of one of my models and go the traditional route of throwing a mold and getting a nice foundry cast done. I thought it would be an interesting statement about having something so fragile and inconsequential (digital file) that it could be wiped out by a small power surge or stray magnet, to then have it bridge into something that could withstand anything short of a nuclear blast (a sizeable chunk of bronze). The old website (2003) is still functioning and you can see that old project here (under current projects/digital sculpture) : https://lesserdeity.com/