Modeler Needed: Human Skull Project

Discussion in '3D Design Requests' started by 360071_deleted, May 12, 2013.

1. Hello, I am an artist living in NYC and like so many artists, I am fascinated by the human skull.

Long before Damian Hirst made his diamond encrusted skull, I made pilgrimages to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to look at the Holy-Grail of all skulls. The skull below was made in 17th century Germany and was carved from ivory. The softness and detail is extraordinary. More importantly, the surface is irregular. Its edges are imperfect, just as a real human skull would look after it is dug up from a grave. It is a masterpiece. It is anatomically perfect and it has an emotional gravity that is captivating. (Fortunately, ivory is banned but I also want to make a skull of my own, hence 3D printing.) Check it out here: http://www.metmuseum.org/collections/search-the-collections/ 120023910?rpp=20&pg=1&ft=Ivory+skull&img=1#fulls creen

A bit futher down in quality from the perfect ivory carving at the Met are the porcelain skulls by Nymphenburg. I love the hand painted flowers and insects on them but, more importantly, I love the negative space in the jawbone, namely, the slightly opened mouth and missing teeth. As much as I love the Nymphenburg skulls, they are way too expensive and are a bit too pretty for me. They don't have the psychological weight that the ivory skull from the Met has.