My new shop!

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by Kimotion, Nov 12, 2012.

1. Kimotion
    Kimotion Member
    https://www.shapeways.com/shops/kimotionarts

After a couple of years of lurking, I finally decided to put my stuff out there to the world :)

I have little cg modeling experience, so I'm using this shop to kind of experiment with different designs and ideas. As you can see, my modeling experience is still just limited to flat like objects using just extruding and boolean cutting.

I plan to have pics of the actual products once they are "printed" and delivered to me (taking longer than I'd like), and once they arrive I will have a more attractive store.

Please let me know what you guys think of the products....any critique or suggenstions will be very appreciated! I work in an industry where my stuff is critiqued harshly so I have a thick skin :)

-Jeff

Last edited: Nov 12, 2012
  2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    Hey Jeff, a late welcome to you. I moved your post to introductions, as you're more introducing your self and your shop. Where the Shop Owners section is more for feed back as a Shop Owner on your Shapeways experience. Please feel free to tell us more about you and your shop.

3. pezhetairoi
    pezhetairoi Member
    Greetings Jeff.

I'm new here too. I clicked over to your store and I took a look at your designs.
    My first thought was that they would laser-cut very well. It might be cheaper, too.
    Since they are really 2D designs "with depth" you would only need a 2D drawing from "the top" to have them cut in any thickness available.

4. Kimotion
    Kimotion Member
    Thanks pezhetairoi,

Yeah, I was looking at another site where they seem to emphasize laser cutting. To be honest, I have years of experience with 3d software and virtually ZERO experience with 2d software, so I took the lazy way and stuck to a tool I know :)

Thanks for stopping at my store and taking a look!

-Jeff

5. Youknowwho4eva