<div class="sw-email-modal sw--display-block"> <div id="emailModalContentContainer"> <span class="noty_close sw--position-absolute sw--position-right sw--padding-top-3 sw--padding-right-3 icon-cancel sw--opacity-8"></span> <div class="sw-row"> <div class="sw-email-modal__copy sw--position-relative sw--display-block sw--padding-vert-4"> <p class="last sw--font-size-16">Sign up to get email alerts on discount promotions. There might be one very soon...</p> <form action="/register/email-signup" class="sw-email-modal__signup sw--position-relative" data-confirmation="emailConfirmationModal" data-sw-email-modal-form> <input type="text" class="sw-email-modal__signup-input sw--input-height__medium" placeholder="Email address" name="email" /> <input type="hidden" class="sw-email-modal__signup-input" name="location" value="/product/SF292CDUG/inner-octaves-color" /> <input type="hidden" class="sw-email-modal__signup-input" name="confirmation" value="emailConfirmationModal" /> <input type="submit" class="btn-primary" value="Sign Up" /> <div id="emailModalFormError" class="text-error" style="display:none"></div> </form> </div> </div> </div>

Click and drag to rotate
Inner Octaves, color 3d printed

Not a Photo

Full Color Sandstone
Inner Octaves, color 3d printed
Inner Octaves, color 3d printed

Not a Photo

Inner Octaves, color

  • 3D printed in Full Color Sandstone: Fully colored material with a coarse finish and a delicate feel.
  • Be the first to try. Learn more
  • This product is intended for mature audiences.
Share Link
Embed This Product

Product Description

Explanation of the Inner Octaves Model

This is a color model of octaves in 3 scales, according to the work of G. I. Gurdjieff and Russell Smith, in his book,  Gurdjieff: Cosmic Secrets. The central vertical line is Scale-0, starting at the note Re. (The notes are represented by solids: Do, sphere; Re, tetrahedron; Mi, cube; Fa, octahedron; So, dodecahedron; La, cuboctahedron; Ti, icosahedron.) The  spirals surrounding the central core octave are  the 3 mathematical octaves of Scale-1: these are the 3 inner octaves of the Scale-0 octave. These octaves span the 4 Fundamental Points (Re, Mi, So, and Do) of the Scale-0 octave, and there are spokes connecting the Dos of the Scale-1 octaves to the central octave at these points. The outer spirals are the 9 "Parts of Parts" octaves of Scale-2, also supported on spokes from the 4 Fundamental Points of the inner octaves of Scale-1. The vertical scale of this model is a multiple of the logarithm (base 2) of the frequencies of the notes, so that all doubling octaves in Scale-1 are the same in height.

This is also a physical model of a human being's Centers (Instinctive, Moving, Emotional, and Intellectual), Parts of Centers, and Parts of Parts of Centers, as encoded in the standard deck of 54 cards with 2 jokers. See Chapter 3 of Cosmic Secrets, and in particular, page 48. Diamonds are yellow, Clubs, purple, Hearts, red, and Spades, black. The Extra Joker is orange, the Joker is Indigo, the Major Oscillations are shown as light blue cylinders, and the Minor Oscillations as green cylinders.  The remaining stopinders and the connecting spokes between the different scales (at the Fundamental Points) are white, and 9 black supporting spokes have been added for printability.

Because the pattern of the inner octaves is reproduced in the major and minor oscillations (the blue and green cylinders, respectively) of each octave, the 9 pairs of oscillations in this model also reproduce the pattern of the 18 cards consisting of the face cards (12), the aces (4), and the jokers (2).  

This 3D model was produced as a direct transcription of the information on page 48 of “Gurdjieff: Cosmic Secrets”, with the aid and permission of Russell A. Smith. Read on to discover the relationship of this model to the fundamental particles making up atoms and their components, also created with Russell’s help and advice.

The Inner Octave model also provides a model of the pattern of matter atoms and sub-atomic particles (anti-matter is a separate octave).

The Central Core: the Atom
Major oscillation:     the nucleus determines the element and isotope
Minor oscillation:     the electron orbitals: determine valence, chemical properties

The Central Spiral: Parts of the Atom (or particles released when these parts collide)
The three pairs of oscillations in the central spiral represent the following:

Top Major:        Charged Baryons--Stable one: Proton, charge +1 (massive ones unstable).
Top minor:         Neutral Baryons –Stable one: Neutron, charge 0
Middle Major:     The strong and weak forces bind nucleus, cause radioactive decay
Middle minor:     Electromagnetic force (charge interaction and radiation); mass and gravity
Bottom Major:     Charged leptons: tau, muon, and the stable electon, charge -1
Bottom minor:     Neutrinos: tau, muon, and the stable electron neutrino, charge 0

The Outer spirals: Parts of Parts of Atoms
The 3 pairs of oscillations in each of the three outer spirals represent the particles that make up the categories of the central spiral oscillations.
Top 3 Octaves:    Quarks, making up the nucleons: both massive (unstable) and light (stable).
1 Major:        Top Quark (most massive, charge +2/3, spin ½)
1 minor:        Bottom Quark (very massive, charge -1/3, spin ½)
2 Major:        Charm Quark (massive, charge +2/3, spin ½)
2 minor:        Strange Quark (massive, charge -1/3, spin ½)
3 Major:        Up Quark: in protons (uud) and neutrons (udd): charge +2/3, spin ½
3 minor:        Down Quark: (in protons and neutrons, charge -1/3, spin ½)

Middle 3 Octaves:      The 3 pairs of particles in the middle three octaves are the gauge bosons (particles mediating the strong, weak, electromagnetic, and gravitational forces, all with spin 1).
1 Major         Z boson (mediating the weak force; charge 0, spin 1)
1 minor:         W bosons (mediating the weak force; charge +1 or -1, spin 1)
2 Major:        Gluons (mediating the strong force, mass 0, charge 0, spin 1) .
2 minor:        Photons (mediating cnarge, electromagnetic waves ; mass 0, charge 0, spin 1 )
3 Major:         Higgs boson (mediating mass; mass 0, charge 0, spin 1)
3 minor:        graviton (mediating gravity; mass 0, charge 0, spin 1)

Bottom 3 Octaves:    Leptons: electron-like particles and neutrinos, both massive (unstable) and light (stable); all have spin ½ and do not interact with the strong force    
1 Major:        Tau (most massive, charge -1, spin ½)
1 minor:        Muon (less massive. charge -1, spin ½)
2 Major:        Electron (least massive, stable, charge -1, spin ½)
2 minor:        Tau Neutrino (most massive, charge 0, spin ½)
3 Major:        Muon Neutrino (less massive, charge 0, spin ½)
3 minor:        Electron Neutrino (least mass, charge 0, spin ½)

This 3D model and the description of the atom and the subatomic particles were produced with the inspiration, aid and permission of Russell A. Smith.
What's in the Box
Inner Octaves, color
Full Color Sandstone
9.3 cm
13.0 cm
9.2 cm

Sign In or Join to comment.


We're sorry to inform you that we no longer support this browser and can't confirm that everything will work as expected. For the best Shapeways experience, please use one of the following browsers:

Click anywhere outside this window to continue.