Zbrush Project

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benttoenail, Nov 22, 2011.

1. benttoenail
    benttoenail New Member
    Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to Shapeways, and I'm working on a project for my nephew for Christmas. The piece I'm working on is a spaceship, which is being built in Zbrush, thus I plan on using the Zbrush 3D printer exporter to shoot it over to shapeways for printing.

I'm wondering what I should watch out for, i.e. polycount, subtools, file size, etc,. The deadline is coming up, and as I'm working on this project I'm getting increasingly nervous that when I send the file in it's going to be a huge mess to clean up. I'm not even sure how to use the 3D Export plugin in the first place!

If anyone could give me some tips / advice on this matter, you'll be making a 4 year old very, very happy.

Thanks!

-benttoenail

Attached Files:

2. pfeiffer stylez
    pfeiffer stylez New Member
    Wall-Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :D

polygon limit: 1 million
    ( if necessary: polygon reduction with MeshLab )

maximum file size: 64 MB

As far as I know zBrush can export models as STL files.
    netfabb (basic) is a good tool to check and repair STL files.

3. benttoenail
    benttoenail New Member
    Cool! I'm glad you let me know, I've got a lot of work to do.

Thanks pfeiffer

-max

4. spaceboy412
    spaceboy412 Member
    Hey, long time zbrusher here.
    Depending on the size you plan to print and the material you may want to bump up your detail just a little bit.
    One way to do that is to create a layer, then do a Deformation>polish or smooth, then go into the layer and move its intensity slider into the negative a small amount. You can always get rid of it if you don't like it.
    I suggest using Decimation master before you export, its really simple to use and you can easily get that model down below even 500k.