So Regarding The Manual Checks, A Discussion.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CybranKNight, Jan 12, 2018.

1. CybranKNight
    CybranKNight Well-Known Member
    So I've been using Shapeways for three years now and I guess my shop is small/slow enough that I've not really had to do with more than a couple rejections but the recent threads have gotten me thinking. Now I mostly work with S&F and FUD so I can't really comment on other materials and my knowledge of how things work currently could be flawed but it's my understanding that currently everytime something is ordered it gets a manual check and thus, can be rejected even if it's been printed 100 times.

Isn't that a bit wasteful? I mean, I understand checking new designs and all that but seems like Shapeways would be better off "letting designs go" once they hit a reliability threshold and spending more time on new and troublesome designs, both to ensure that initial checks are thorough enough to try avoid "False Positive/Negatives" and provide a deeper analysis of troublesome models, including providing examples of previous issues/breakages.*

This might be feasible for all materials but for S&F and FUD/FED this should work now that we can define a specific orientation, once the model is checked any issues that arise should be from printer issues and Shapeways' handling, neither of which is something a design has any control/influence over. Obviously designs need to be checked initially but once that passes it shouldn't need to be rechecked until/unless is can't be printed or handled properly. In fact we can simply repurpose the "First to Try" system to track this, as long as the print history is above a set amount for a given model it shouldn't need to be checked again and again needlessly.