Shapeways site update of July 1st 2010

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by arno, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. arno
    arno New Member
    Hi All,

    We've had another update this week and I wanted to inform you about it:


    * The big feature of this week is that we now support the use of sub-categories to better classify the models. With the number of models growing, as well as the kind of models, we think this to be a big step in making the site more usable.

    You find the new categories and sub-categories directly on the front page and of course on the galleries.

    The coming days/weeks we'll do more-and-more configuring in the subcategories, and we'll also try put as many models in the correct subcategory automatically as possible. (Eg, by putting models from a theme-gallery into a category that is of similar context).

    You can help by reviewing your models and put them into the correct (sub) category. To prevent models being put in all categories, a model can only be put in a limited number of categories.
    Please help in making your models easier to find.


    * The description of a model can now be longer, you can use [enter] in the description, and it supports click-able URLs.


    * And something not many of you will see (should see) ... if you choose to pay your order by bank transfer, you'll get a reminder email when the payment is almost due.


    Kind regards, Arno
     
  2. dizingof
    dizingof New Member
    Hi,

    1. I'm on Firefox and cant get the sub directories to work for me, my entire window is covered with a bluish layer and that's it , nothing to do except do a refresh...

    2. can we use <embed> for a youtube video too?
    I use youtube videos to better market the models.


    Thanks

     
  3. virtox
    virtox Active Member Moderator
    Hi Dizinghof,

    1. I had the same problem, for me the (temporary) solution was to not use "zooming" in the browser window, make sure things are shown at default size.

    2. Second that :) A video of a Gyro Toy says a thousand pictures ;)

    Cheers (for Holland :) )

    Stijn
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  4. robert
    robert New Member
    Which version of Firefox are you using?

    For those wanting to embed videos we have something in store for you very soon. :)

    - Robert
     
  5. photosfromrob
    photosfromrob New Member
    There should be subcategories under design your own and design your own under each category...please
     
  6. dizingof
    dizingof New Member
    Firefox 3.6.6 the latest.



     
  7. robert
    robert New Member
    Yes, those categories are coming.

    - Robert
     
  8. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Shapeways Employee Community Team
    I'm having the same issue with firefox 3.6.6. Then again I've been having network issues all day so I can't confirm that it's shapeways and not my network. The loading thing spins, and the bottoms says getting this from there and this from here. But I cut it off after like 10 minutes.
     
  9. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    For the model train enthusiasts that are modelling here.. it would be helpful if the "Model Train" section had a place to specify what SCALE a model is for.. O, HO, N, Z, etc.
     
  10. GHP
    GHP New Member
    In Internet Explorer 8, I'm finding that the green buttons that you click to show the sub-category pop-up menus cover up many of the items in the pop-up menus. I'm attaching a snapshot. Also, are the next/previous (arrow) buttons on the "Draw your own earrings competition" picture supposed to do something? They don't when I click them, and that has been true of similar buttons on the other featured items lately. Also, my status bar when I go to the home page says "Error on page", with the error details as below:

    "
    Webpage error details

    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB6.5)
    Timestamp: Sat, 3 Jul 2010 03:57:54 UTC


    Message: 'undefined' is null or not an object
    Line: 817
    Char: 7
    Code: 0
    URI: http://www.shapeways.com/platform/atk/javascript/prototype/p rototype.js


    Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
    Line: 6
    Char: 44
    Code: 0
    URI: http://www.shapeways.com/min/g=842c5b09a37d31870cf999a88acad 713&1276761830


    Message: 'undefined' is null or not an object
    Line: 817
    Char: 7
    Code: 0
    URI: http://www.shapeways.com/platform/atk/javascript/prototype/p rototype.js
    "

    Incidentally, am I the only one who can't add shop sections and categories or move my items around on the page to edit my shop?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. virtox
    virtox Active Member Moderator
    Yesterday, I spent quite some time putting models in the new right categories, when I finally got it working.

    Today, they seem to have been reset to the values they had after the automatic conversion. :(
     
  12. GHP
    GHP New Member
    I've been trying to add categories to a model I've just uploaded, but when I leave the model's page, I get a dialog box titled "Message from webpage" with the message "Stack overflow at line: 218". When I return to the model's page, the categories I added are gone.

    Update: The categories I added are back again!
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  13. virtox
    virtox Active Member Moderator
    Grr, don't forget to also "save changes" to the model page, after "saving categories" ;)
    Had to do my changes twice today :rolleyes:

    (although I'm sure, that yesterday I did this, as I checked them later and all were fine, till this morning)
     
  14. jdl
    jdl New Member
    We are working on this and will add very soon