Not So R/c

Discussion in 'Interest Groups' started by desdichato, Oct 9, 2017.

1. desdichato
    desdichato New Member
    Guys,

An observation: I go through the shapeways site at least every couple of months particularly the military 1/16th scale stuff and much seems to be about updating/modding/replacing aspects of the radio control series of vehicles of several manufacturers.

As a keen 1/16th modeler I am somewhat disappointed that there is very little out there suit the 1/16th static modeler, and before anyone says it, yes, there are not a lot of 1/16th static models around at least compared to the R/C versions and the differences in sizes – A Tamiya Panzer 4 J upper hull is about a mm shorter and about 5mm wider than the Trumpeter lower hull (having both I have checked it out) – Trumpeter do a 16th Panzer 4 H & a late J but neither are compatible to make an early J owing to difference in the lower hull ++ and getting parts from Trumpeter is to say the least a hit and miss affair – of course there is always bigger conversions that would suit the lower hull (Stug 4, Jagdpanzer 4 Panzer 4 L/70 (A) spring to mind).

It's the same with the figures there a lot of fine figures out there but there is no real alternatives for different weaponry, the Mg 42, a couple of rifles, mp40 schmisser and a Pzb antitank rifle, there are some dated Verlinden resin stuff available but it lacks a lot of the finesse I've seen from the stuff on the shapeways site and a total lack of anything with more hitting power (Panzerfaust, panzerknacker (German bazooka) or even the luftfaust/fliegerfaust (late war 9 barreled shoulder fired AA weapon)) as well as other hand held weaponry, helmets (with detailed interior) and grenades.

I realise that the items made are probably an extension of your R/C hobby and there is probably little interest in static models but I thought I would put it out there and step down from my soapbox, so keep up the good work.

Thanks

Phil

2. UniverseBecoming