New Materials

Discussion in 'Miniatures and Scale Models' started by ricjori, May 22, 2019.

1. ricjori
    ricjori Member
    Hello Everyone

Has anyone tried the White Premium Versatile Plastic yet? What can you say about the detail level?

I have had some bad experiences with the white natural versatile plastic, and excelente experiences with the smoothest fine detail plastic.

However, the price increase doesn't allow me to buy some of the models I wanted (with this last level of detail).

So, is the White Premium Versatile Plastic anygood? Or is it just a waste of Money?

Best Regards

Ricardo - Portugal

southernnscale likes this.
  2. EricaC
    EricaC Shapeways Employee CS Team
    Hi @ricjori!
    Versatile Plastic in any finish can be a bit tough on details. The premium finish especially, since we'll put the parts through a longer, more intensive polishing process. The surface will be smoother, but you'll also be likely to lose fine details along the way. If you'd like, the service team can take a look at the models you're interested in trying out premium VP for, just let us know which ones and we'll see if they're a good fit for the material.

ricjori likes this.
  3. adbinc
    adbinc Well-Known Member
    My customers split on the two materials. I think it depends on the purpose you have. If you want to paint something to show it off, then the Fine Detail Plastic is the way to go. If you want to play games and use minis, then many people like the Versatile Plastic. That way you aren't in mourning when someone drops your mini or handles it roughly. If details matter to you (phaser bumps are important to our customers), then you don' want it polished. If you aren't the best painter and want to see your factions in different colors (and you don't mind if some of the smaller details are missing), then the colored Versatile Plastics might do for you.