Hi! I'm Dan And Looking For Advice On Printing A Replacement Part

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by Dan75, Apr 7, 2019.

1. Dan75
    Dan75 Member
    Hi, my name is Dan, I live in Holland and I am completely new to 3d printing.
    I have made a hobby of revising vintage turntables and stumbled more than once upon parts and pieces that became brittle over time.
    Some parts are made of special compounds with specs that are known to the maker only but it is almost always that these parts aren't available
    anymore. So the only options are donor parts or printing them.

The advice I need to begin with is, which program would be best for a beginner like me to make a 3D file of the part I have lying here in front of me? Secondly, which material would be best in ways of durability and costs. The part I am talking about is rather small and sits on the tonearm of the turntable and is part of the moving mechanism.
    This part is originally made out of a transparant plastic and has a small screw in it. The screw is to tighten it to the tubing (made out of brass I think) of the tonearm.
    This part is prone to cracks, so the part does not stay in place and therefore does not function anymore. In all of the same make and models of these tables this part is cracked
    Help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
    Dan

2. Ngineer
    Ngineer Well-Known Member
    Hi Dan,
    The software is a matter of debate, but it all boils down to which program you prefer.... All programs are able to do what you intend to design.
    Materials: Versatile Plastic should be fine, I'd try that first. It's pretty strong and the finish is decent, it handles fine (like in sanding, painting etc), and it's available in various colors. Detailed plastic is too brittle. I don't have any experience with all the latest materials, but there might be some good candidates there as well (like Multi Jet Fusion Plastic PA12 etc)
    Erik

3. Dan75
    Dan75 Member