Hello from a modeller in Birmingham, UK

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by 373933_deleted, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Hello all.

I'm a complete newbie with this technology, but I'm wondering if I can use it to make part of my hobby a little easier. I build a lot of railway wagons from plastic kits, and to introduce some variety, I would like to prepare alternative components for van sides and ends. It looks like I can do that (I have to learn to use the software, of course) - but I'm wondering how to bond my 'new' components to those of the plastic kits. The plastic I'm working with is either styrene or ABS, and I use a liquid solvent known as MEK (Methyl Ethyl Ketone). Would the same solvent be suitable for bonding 3D-printed components?

2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    Welcome,

We have a very large train community here. You may want to check out the post production section for your glue question. Some may effect the 3D printed materials

3. Thanks for your reply.

I did look through the post production section, but didn't really find any answers to the questions I had in mind.

Of course, using a solvent to bond the components of a kit, I expect those components to be affected. A layer of plastic (the thickness depends on the amount of solvent applied) of each component is dissolved, and then when the solvent evaporates, the material of the affected components solidifies and the components are bonded. If the plastic material used in the 3D printing process will dissolve in the same way, and I can then rely on it bonding to the material used in the original kit components, that's exactly what I need.

So - if my use of MEK (or some other solvent) 'affects' the material of the printed part, that's a GOOD thing!

4. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member