Dynamic Volume Pattern?

Discussion in 'ShapeJS' started by Ontogenie, Nov 23, 2016.

1. Ontogenie
    Ontogenie Well-Known Member
    Hi everyone,
    I'm very new to ShapeJS and have been working my way through some of the tutorials but I'm beginning to think that what I want to do just isn't possible (yet) with ShapeJS. Before I delve any deeper into this, I'd like to ask for your guidance. I would like to be able to either (a) add multiple images to create textures, and have a slider that selects between them or (b) have a volume pattern/distance function that is dynamic, i.e. expressed as an algorithm with variable, non-static parameters. Am I dreaming here, or is this perhaps possible?

Thanks!
    Kimberly

2. MrNib
    MrNib Well-Known Member
    I would say I had part b) doing this in 2014 using ShapeJS v1. Now I'm trying to port that over to ShapeJS v2 and encountering some difficulties. The part of my code that did this was to pattern the surface of a cylinder using trig functions. Basically think of lots of equations to generate ridges, flutes, or combinations thereof on the surface. In general the use of all sorts of math functions are possible, but regular repeating sine wave functions would be the most common. In the parameter inputs you could specify things like the number of flutes, or how many cycles of ridges along a length, or a specific wavelength for the pattern of ridges, etc. Typical engineering stuff. But I'm not completely sure what was in v1 but is not in v2 or visa versa.

How this worked before... In the main function I had some simple code to define the voxel grid and the patterned cylinder:
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    var grid = createGrid(-a,a,-a,a,-a,a,0.1*MM)
    var union1 = new Union();
    union1.add(Pattern);
    ---------------------------------------------------------