Car Badge

Discussion in 'Materials' started by stepahin, Dec 7, 2017.

1. stepahin
    stepahin Member
    Hey! I'm a newbie and just want to ask your advice. Please help me

I want to order car badge (letters logo) and want it to look like chrome-plated or polished steel. Size 180 x 40 x 5 mm. Separate letters. Like this:

[​IMG]

Please advise me the material and finish

2. kaadesign
    kaadesign Well-Known Member
    Ahh.. 230 kW at 4.300 ... BMW

Last edited: Dec 9, 2017 at 4:23 AM
  3. Anyuta3D
    Anyuta3D Well-Known Member
    Dear stepahin,

Since you asked for help and advice, here is a friendly advice. To have the pictured letters in chrome-plated or polished steel you have to choose from following two options:

• The first option is to order from a 3D designer to build this for you and later 3D produce it in metal (with dubious results regarding the "chrome-plated or polished steel" finish you asked for). Estimated cost for 3D design fees and 3D printing... a lot USD!
    • The other option, is to search for it on ebay. As far as I checked, there are hundreds of sellers offering this exact item for $10 to $15 and free international shipping.
    ...need to say more?

Regards,
    Anyuta 3D

4. stepahin
    stepahin Member
    I have my own logo design (letter) and I have 3d model ready for production.

My question only about material and finish. I want it to look like the photo above (this is an example)

5. kaadesign
    kaadesign Well-Known Member
    If no large chamfering is required, it is better to laser the contour out of a stainless steel sheet. (DXF or SVG file )
    If a large bevel as shown in the picture is needed, then the parts should be milled. (Ideally a STEP file )

6. stepahin
    stepahin Member
    I think the second option because I don't want absolutely flat front side. Look at my model

stl https://www.dropbox.com/s/pu3sibglfi58t5k/gastein2.stl?dl=0
    step https://www.dropbox.com/s/6ioccs6zbrnukhv/gastein2.step?dl=0