Boeing 747 Nose Model

Discussion in 'My Work In Progress' started by niall_mcc, Apr 17, 2017.

1. niall_mcc
    niall_mcc New Member
    Hey, first post on here and I'm completely new to 3D printing.

Myself and a friend want to do a 3D print of a Boeing 747 nose at a 1:72 scale. The issue is the model we're using is ported from a game and the geometry is a mess, full of overlapping vertices and other issues. Is there a quick way to fix this without manually bridging each vertice?

I've attached a sample of the file we're dealing with, thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    The model you uploaded is not too bad. I used Netfabb to remove some of the loose parts such as antennas, etc.
    Then I used Blender to subdivision the surface.. making it quite a bit smoother.

Attached Files:

3. niall_mcc
    niall_mcc New Member
    Thanks @stonysmith Do you mind explaining how you fixed the overlapping geometry? Is there a tool in Netfabb to adjust wall thickness as we need hollow the windows out and keep printing costs down.

4. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    Let me start that my method is not for beginners.. I've got a lot of experience (several hundred hours) with Netfabb, so I can bend its limitations to my evil purposes <grin>

In Netfabb, I used the "Repair" tool, and manually walked around the model selecting loose shells and deleting them. As to fixing the overlapping shells, I used a combination of these two methods:
    http://stonysmith.com/wired/Netfabb_Tutorial_1/default.asp
    http://stonysmith.com/wired/Netfabb_Tutorial_2/default.asp
    The basic idea is to delete the stuff you don't want, and to add extra triangles to force shells to join together. Patience and Experience (trial and error) is your friend.