Designing My Own Sintershell

Discussion in 'Design and Modeling' started by miniaturemercantile, Apr 4, 2018.

1. Hi,
    I am new to 3D modeling and forgive me if this is already somewhere on the forums but I couldn't find information on designing your own sintershell.

I haven't been happy with the results when I've used sprues so I thought I'd give the automated sintershell a try. It did cut the cost but still seemed to use a lot of material. I was considering making my own shell made up of some sort of miniature objects that I could just cut apart because it seems like such a waste.

What exactly would the specifications be for designing a sintershell as far as thickness, escape holes, etc.?

2. MrNibbles
    MrNibbles Well-Known Member
    The rules would be the same as for regular objects but include lots of holes. What I don't like about the automated sintershell is that it's not so easy to cut the shell open and it's possible to damage the contents when cutting into it. I had proposed they create the sintershells that look something like what's in the following image. The loops are cut or snipped on the outside of the cage with less chance of internal damage. It shouldn't be too hard to create something like this from scratch to hold your valued itty bitty prints.You could even print a hinge on one side so the thing opens like a clam shell after cutting the loops on the other three sides. I've probably shown too many loops on this prototype image. You could probably get by with half as many. Just be sure your cutting tool can fit into the available spaces and cut each loop.

[​IMG]

miniaturemercantile likes this.