Home » Community » 3D modeler needed » Need simple 3D shape
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Need simple 3D shape [message #49570] Sat, 09 June 2012 00:01 UTC Go to next message
avatar demackison  is currently offline demackison
Go to my shop
I do wood carving with draw knife and chisel in Kentucky and a blacksmith in Arizona is going to make pieces to fit in my work. I need to send him a piece that he can use as a model to check fit of his pieces to mine. Rather than send him a sample of my work with all the imperfections common to doing work by hand, I would like to 3D print an idealized model for him to work against.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with autoCAD or any other 3D modeling program and no idea how much such a project would cost. Help!
Re: Need simple 3D shape [message #49571 is a reply to message #49570 ] Sat, 09 June 2012 00:11 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
Go to my shop
https://tinkercad.com/embed/8Kx1dnogcbi?editbtn=1

For now, let me see if I can describe it to you. It is a single object made from one piece of material with three sections. It doesn't move or have any joints. All three sections share a centerline. The whole thing is about 12 inches long (but the length isn't exact and can be several inches shorter or longer).

The first section is a cylinder with an oval cross section, 1.5" x 1" and 5"-6" long

The third section is also strait and 5"-6" long, but has a flattened hexagon for a cross section. The hex is 2" wide at the widest with the sides at the widest point 3/4" tall. The height of the the flattened hex is 1.5" point-to-point perpendicular to the width. You can go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/50288439@N03/6904370500/in/phot ostream to see the shape I am talking about. Imagine the third section of the thing we building fitting snugly through that hole.