Home » Community » General Discussion » How to make a model car replica? Please help!
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
How to make a model car replica? Please help! [message #48817] Wed, 23 May 2012 18:31 UTC Go to next message
avatar kinctr01  is currently offline kinctr01
Go to all my models
Ok...so I am completely new to everything that is 3D, from modeling to printing to...did I mention everything?

Here is my mission, I simply need the help of any informed and knowledgable individuals willing to assist. I want to make a replica model of my car that I currently own and drive. I am able to acquire an already made 3D model of the vehicle in a .obj file which I believe is good for Shapeways to use in making a 3D print from. However, is it that simple? Do I just need the file, upload, order, and voila!? I feel I not thaaaat naive... Smile There has to be more...and I would like to know how simple I can make this (meaning just ordering enough to make the general body of my vehicle with wheels, but not anything inside (ei engine, seats, etc). or ordering everything with all vehicle details/parts included) I feel like I am right on the tip of making this happen, but just don't have the know-how to truly get it going and get results. I basically want my car in the same type of model cars you see on the shelf at name that store selling model cars.

I really hope someone out there has already tackled this endeavor or can at least help me accomplish what I am looking for. Thank you!!!

Troy

[Updated on: Wed, 23 May 2012 18:37 UTC]

Re: How to make a model car replica? Please help! [message #48820 is a reply to message #48817 ] Wed, 23 May 2012 19:11 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar stonysmith  is currently offline stonysmith
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
If you're willing to send me the model via PM, I'll take a look and see what the feasability is.