Home » Community » Shapeways Shops » Static Image Display
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Static Image Display [message #46847] Thu, 12 April 2012 06:50 UTC Go to next message
avatar PlainOrb  is currently offline PlainOrb
Go to my shop
Hi, I can't find my last topic regarding image display, so I got this new topic.

Here is an example of static image display:
http://www.behance.net/gallery/3D-Printed-USB-Dust-Cap-Leaf- Style/3544895

and here is how the same images are dynamically displayed on shapeways:
http://www.shapeways.com/model/504592/usb-dust-cap-leaf-styl e.html

You may compare the two display means and see that dynamic display shows an obvious overcompression on images.
I used to be an amateur graphic designer and would suggest using static image display for better image quality.

[Updated on: Thu, 12 April 2012 06:57 UTC]

Plain Orb
Re: Static Image Display [message #46866 is a reply to message #46847 ] Thu, 12 April 2012 17:20 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar stonysmith  is currently offline stonysmith
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
Sorry... I'm still not comprehending what you are suggesting. Most of those images seem to me to be equal in quality/resolution.

Patience, Persistance, Politeness - the 3Ps will help us get us to Perfect Printed Products
Re: Static Image Display [message #46881 is a reply to message #46866 ] Thu, 12 April 2012 18:52 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Youknowwho4eva  is currently offline Youknowwho4eva
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
I work here
stonysmith wrote on Thu, 12 April 2012 17:20

Sorry... I'm still not comprehending what you are suggesting. Most of those images seem to me to be equal in quality/resolution.

I notice the shapeways image is not as crisp. Especially if you look at the leaf itself (open both and switch back and forth) Maybe this is done for load speed? I don't know graphics or coding so I have no idea.