Home » Community » Work in progress » Fantasy Busts
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Fantasy Busts [message #4031] Fri, 24 April 2009 04:47 UTC Go to next message
avatar distance880  is currently offline distance880
Go to all my models
index.php?t=getfile&id=547&private=0

I was thinking of creating a line of fantasy character busts.

Would white detail work best for these ?

Which of the materials comes closest to casting in resin. like something you would buy from Forge World.

• Attachment: catmanv3.jpg
    (Size: 240.55KB, Downloaded 585 time(s))

Re: Fantasy Busts [message #4034 is a reply to message #4031 ] Fri, 24 April 2009 07:05 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Anvariel  is currently offline Anvariel
Go to my shop
Nice model! I've used WSF myself when printing busts. But then again, I'm no expert.

However, I see that you're using ZBrush! Nice. Smile One thing you have to keep in mind is that you will have to reduce the polygon count a LOT to be able to print it since Shapeways has an upper limit to the number of polygons you can have. First if all you will have to hollow it out to make the price reasonable and to do that you will need a lot of extra polygons (although not necessarily double the amount). Your model looks very high-poly. I would suggest using optimize (or whatever it's called) in a program like blender to reduce the polygon count. Of course you can just go down a level or two in subdivisions in ZBrush but sometimes that does not give the best results. Also do note that if you print it in a rather small scale (5-8 cm) you probably will not see all the details anyway so there is no need for them to be in the model.

Good luck with the printing! =)
Re: Fantasy Busts [message #4035 is a reply to message #4031 ] Fri, 24 April 2009 07:53 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar distance880  is currently offline distance880
Go to all my models