Could this model be printable ?

Discussion in 'Design and Modeling' started by 138118_deleted, Jan 26, 2012.

1. I am new to the process of making a 3d object printable and using netfabb and these programs.

The model i have built in minecraft. With the program mineways i have created the *.wrl file.
    Then with Meshlab converted to a *.stl file. This file uploaded to Shapeways.
    https://www.shapeways.com/model/452072/amphitheatrum_flavium_ __2004_cm____.html
    It seems to work.

But a Customer Service Agent found some difficulties with the model. After i sent her the the models *.stl file.
    This is what she says: "As you can see on my attachments, you can see that these models are too small to be printed and there fore the wall thickness is also too thin. " - her picture:
    [​IMG]

After her suggestion to use netfabb i get these informations:
    [​IMG]

the model on the website
    https://www.shapeways.com/model/452072/amphitheatrum_flavium_ __2004_cm____.html

Should i let someone try to purchase the model and see what shapeways says, if its printable or not ?
    But I would reluctantly make someone an offer that probably can not be met.

Last edited: Jan 26, 2012
  2. stop4stuff
    stop4stuff Well-Known Member
    The dimensions of the model on the model page are different to the dimensions shown in your screenshots. Did you update the model?

3. Yes, i have updated the model but the numbers of the dimensions i have not changed. I only changed some blocks in Minecraft and i have had to go through the repair process.
    And now that you mention it, I realize that they are the same numbers that differ only in their zero points.
    Maybe this happens because i choose on the uploadpage "Meters" in the "Unit of Measure", maybe, i dont know.

4. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    One of the dimensions of this model is 0.442

Uploaded as millimeters.. that's microscopic.. way too small.