Home » Community » 3D modeler needed » Seeking help and suggestion on the minimum resoultion of a model
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Seeking help and suggestion on the minimum resoultion of a model [message #39090] Wed, 23 November 2011 04:03 UTC Go to next message
avatar gwfalcon  is currently offline gwfalcon
Go to my shop
Hi Team,

Newbie here. In a couple of days I would like to send some models to shapeways for printing. I would like to ask a question on the minimum resolution of a model.

I know that the minimum wall-thickness for most product (I am going to use one of them) is 0.1 mm. But does it mean that it is the minimum length of the polygon in a model? Kindly see the attached document. I have marked a 3mm length as a reference. You can see lots of triangles are there at the curvey edge, and their length surely is much less then 1 mm. For this case, can shapeways handle it?

Thanks a lot for all help, suggestions, and explanantions!

Alex
index.php?t=getfile&id=12255&private=0

• Attachment: Demo.JPG
    (Size: 98.36KB, Downloaded 111 time(s))

[Updated on: Wed, 23 November 2011 04:05 UTC]

Re: Seeking help and suggestion on the minimum resoultion of a model [message #39115 is a reply to message #39090 ] Wed, 23 November 2011 13:15 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar pfeiffer stylez  is currently offline pfeiffer stylez
Go to my shop
gwfalcon wrote on Wed, 23 November 2011 04:03

I know that the minimum wall-thickness for most product (I am going to use one of them) is 0.1 mm.

I guess you mean 1mm, because the absolute minimum wall-thickness (for prints in "Frosted Ultra Detail") is 0,3mm ...

gwfalcon wrote on Wed, 23 November 2011 04:03

But does it mean that it is the minimum length of the polygon in a model?

Nope, it's the required material to make sure the models survive printing, cleaning, and (hopefully) shipping without breaking or deformation.