Please help: My very first model could not be printed

Discussion in 'Design and Modeling' started by 84774_deleted, May 23, 2011.

1. 84774_deleted
    84774_deleted Member
    Hello!

This is the original message I received after my order was processed then canceled:

"You've sold models that unfortunately can't be produced. Our apologies for the fact that our validation software did not catch this earlier.

The following models have been rejected:

- Final 2: Other (do not use) : remaining shell
    https://www.shapeways.com/model/260228/final_2.html
    - Shapeways Image Popper: Other (do not use) : remaining shell
    https://www.shapeways.com/model/260233/shapeways_image_popper .html"

I uploaded a black and white image carefully following the guidelines for the Shapeways Image Popper software.

I guessed that the green part was where problem was. I do not have the experience of 3-D modeling nor my own software to make changes.

This is my first time printing a 3D model and I was just trying to create a test. Customer service responded and said that I have a "loose shell" and suggested that I could remove that aspect. I have searched the forums and can't really find an answer to the "loose shell" problem. What does loose shell mean?

Without removing the green line entirely, how can I fix this problem with my limited resources? How can I fix this model using the shapeways image popper?

Would it help if I kept a larger border/ base around the edges?

Thank you kindly for your time,

Attached Files:

2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    It looks as if image popper made the bottom bar a separate entity. I'll see if we can get a solution.

3. 84774_deleted
    84774_deleted Member
    Thank You, I'll stayed tuned.

4. 65258_deleted
    65258_deleted Member