First Timer

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by 1140028_deleted, Mar 29, 2016.

1. I'm a designer and builder of custom pipe organs at C. B. Fisk, Inc. in Gloucester, Massachusetts. We make a 1:16 scale model of the church or concert hall we are working in so that the visual design is properly done. To date all the modeling has been done in house, mostly in wood. I am exploring the possibility of having some parts, especially the multiples, done by 3d printing.
    I've been working in AutoCAD for thirty years, but in 3d for just a few. We run v. 2014.
    I uploaded an .stl file of a baluster I need 35 of. I want to try having these made in flexible plastic, but in the preview it looks more faceted than I would wish. I'd like to know how to get it to print out smoother.

www.cbfisk.com

20160211_0015.JPG

2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    Welcome! can you share a link to the item or a screen shot so that we can see what you're seeing?

3. Steven3D
    Steven3D Active Member
    This is possible, you'll need to typ in the command 'FACETRES' and then enter '10', that's the maximum, if your STL gets over the maximum file size try to input a lower value.

Goodluck, kind regards
    Steven

4. Shea_Design
    Shea_Design Well-Known Member
    Dead link. I hope you're not talking about the thin wall test preview, it is decimated. -S

5. Youknowwho4eva
    Link works for me, yea, you need to increase the facets in the model. Looks like Steven3D has the experience in autoCAD :)

6. Shea_Design
    Shea_Design Well-Known Member
    Maybe you have admin powers because that link is still dead from here in multiple browsers. Shows the little graphic 'This model is no longer publically available'. Hopefully it is sorted out. -S

7. Youknowwho4eva
    Hmmm, I shouldn't be able to view private things even with my powers.

190x153_4543820_15010285_1459267186.jpg

8. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator