SHIPPING COSTS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 1128885_deleted, Mar 21, 2016.

1. Dear Shapeways,

I am new to your really cool website and the world of 3D printing.
    I play guitar and after finding Raphael on Shapeways was prepared to
    order some customized guitar picks. Raphael suggested that I start
    by ordering just 1 guitar pick to make sure the design was printed
    to my satisfaction. I placed my order realizing that I had to pay
    $3 for 1 guitar pick and I accepted that. BUT then I got to the shipping
    which I was told, was dictated by Shapeways and I fell on the floor
    when I saw the price of $5.00 DOLLARS!! For 1 tiny little guitar pick
    that could easily fit in a common envelope with a little stamp.
    I'm not saying that I can't afford $5 DOLLARS but I had to take a
    stand on a price that was completely ridiculous. So unfortunately
    I am not going to order from Shapeways. I did feel the need to
    voice my concern and I thought maybe Shapeway would consider
    in the future, NOT RIPPING FOLKS OFF with their shipping costs.
    All the best to the folks trying to earn money on Shapeways.

Sincerely,
    Bummed out guitar player

2. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    On the other hand, you can order $2,000.00 worth of items and STILL have it delivered for just $5.

3. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    Or one item worth $2000

4. CybranKNight
    CybranKNight Well-Known Member
    That's the catch of flat rate shipping, at least 5$ isn't that bad all things considered, I'm in Canada so I have to pay 11.50 USD for my shipping and even that isn't as bad as it gets! ;p

5. New Zealand checking in... international postage is not fun.

Makes those free shipping sales even better though, so silver lining.

6. MrNibbles
    MrNibbles Well-Known Member