Lapel Pin

Discussion in 'My Work In Progress' started by chriswh86, Mar 16, 2016.

1. chriswh86
    chriswh86 Member
    Hi all,

I am currently designing a lapel pin. The customer would like it to be about 3/4" in length and done in a polished silver, I have completed the model and uploaded it but I am getting thin wall issues.

test.png

IBA .4 side.png

Mostly due to the thin parts of the text due to those lines. I am wondering what I can do to fix this without hurting the logos design. Obviously it needs to stick to the original design as it is promoting a company.

If I bring the extruded lines up closer to the top of the text will that help at all?

Any suggestions will be appreciated. This is my first time coming to a 3rd party print company for getting the job done so I am a little out of touch.

2. Shea_Design
    Shea_Design Well-Known Member
    First off don't make a row of 1's across the bottom. P N da A. 2nd, congratulations you have just entered the world of design constraints! Now you know to evaluate logos and other models for minimum thickness and acute angles. About the only thing you can do without dramatically changing the logo is scale up the part, also order in raw silver if possible or you may be on course to learn about production polishing and loss of detail. Thing will probably pass raw castings at about 2 inches,.. you can always test scale a model to start to get a feel for the thin wall threshold. Sorry to be so abrupt, it's late and I'm doing my own model checks. Good luck! -S

3. chriswh86
    chriswh86 Member
    Thanks for your reply Shea_Design, also thanks about the 1's, I wasn't sure what was causing it, either way, my signature was full of 1's. Sorry :) I will try working with raw silver and scaling up :) Is the raw silver pretty shiny as well?

4. Shea_Design