hello from chicago

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by Unlearny, Oct 13, 2010.

1. Unlearny
    Unlearny Member
    Hi everybody, I'm Andy! I have been lurking around for a while, but have been busy with other things.

I think this is one of the most exciting businesses and technologies going, and it saddens me deeply that I have no skills, Cad or 3D-wise, period. The best I can do is slap a loreo lenscap on my camera and take 3D pictures of my dogs.

I have a ton of ideas, some of which are tools for musicians, guitarists, especially, but I guess I need to learn yet another new thing. NO!

I've read through the tutorials here, and everything is geared to either modeling-savvy people or complete novices who want words on their napkin holders. I am somewhere in between those two. I know exactly what I would like to create, but haven't learned what steps I should take to begin designing 3D objects.

I come from a specialty metals background, especially cemented carbides and powder metals. I was a member of CISP (center for innovative sintered products.) at Penn State, and know the answer to any PM question you want to throw at me. I think shapeways should invest in a furnace and offer more specialty metal parts. But as I said, I couldn't use that service even if they offered it. I come from the business side. but not for lack of trying. I also make miniature sculptures by hand, but that is entirely different.

Anyways, I stopped working last year to write a book, so I am virtually unemployed, just in case y'all thought I was boasting a little too hard for someone called unlearny.

Any software suggestions would be appreciated, especially if one comes with a step by step tutorial. That is how I learn most things, without human contact.

This will surely be the longest post I ever write, so don't fear.

-Andy

2. Hi, Andy, welcome! Just to confuse matters, I'm Andy. :p