OBJ to STL question

Discussion in 'Materials' started by 46947_deleted, Aug 11, 2010.

1. 46947_deleted
    46947_deleted Member
    I am new in 3d printing!
    I'm puzzled by the the result of converting obj file to stl
    why does what I see in zbrush a smooth surface turn into many obvious triangular shapes? How does this affect the printing result?
    I actually went to a LRP facility with one stl file.
    I wanted it to be 13cm, but people there told me the file's standard size for production is only 0.50cm.
    What should I do? How can I adjust the scale?

For example:
    OBJ file
    [​IMG]
    STL file
    [​IMG]

2. Youknowwho4eva
    Youknowwho4eva Well-Known Member
    STL is the standard for 3D printing, and is a method of displaying 3D models in polygons. OBJ uses I think T-Splines to display models. Which is why OBJ looks smooth and STL looks well polygonal.

3. 46947_deleted
    46947_deleted Member
    It is not just the look, right?
    is the printing result also polygonal?

4. 4219_deleted
    4219_deleted Member
    I thought it would be helpful to try and provide you with a more comprehensive answer, so here goes.
    Each of the file formats that you might choose to use (for example, OBJ and STL) is actually storing the object that you have created as a table listing all of its vertices as individual points (X, Y, Z). These are connected to one another to create an assortment of polygons which form the actual shape you are working with (the shape you see after your conversion to STL).