Exporting Color for Full-Color Sandstone from Creo Parametric

Discussion in 'Software and Applications' started by westhomas, Jun 1, 2015.

1. westhomas
    westhomas Member
    Hi,

I have applied color to my model in Creo Parametric (3.0), but when I export the .WRL and the .STL and zip them together to upload (as laid out in instruction here; https://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/exporting_to_vrml_and_x3 d_for_color_printing ) the texture does not come in on Shapeways. I am able to print in sandstone, but full-color sandstone does not recognize the texture/color.

I am new to full color sandstone, and I know Creo isn't the most widely used software, but my original file was created in Creo.

Does anyone have experience with this or can offer suggestions?

Thanks,
    Wes

2. mkroeker
    mkroeker Well-Known Member
    No experience with Creo, but can you check the WRL file (which is readable if perhaps confusing) to see if it actually has any texture entries, and if they contain the name of your image file (surely you meant to write "JPG" or "PNG", not STL ?) without any drive letter or folder name ?
    If in doubt, can you upload a small sample file here - it need not be your secret creation, just a textured cube or sphere that exhibits the same problem

3. westhomas
    westhomas Member
    Thanks for the response mkroeker - sorry for my ignorance but this is my first time trying to do anything in full color sandstone. I work in the toy industry so mainly am familiar with designing parts for injection molding/ 3D printing functional prototypes.

The only "official" shapeways article I can find is this on Exporting to VRML and X3D for Color Printing; https://www.shapeways.com/tutorials/exporting_to_vrml_and_x3 d_for_color_printing