Home » Support » 3D Applications » Rhino question; constructing gears
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Rhino question; constructing gears [message #12802] Thu, 13 May 2010 14:29 UTC Go to next message
avatar LatexSpikes  is currently offline LatexSpikes
Go to my shop
I'm still learning the program, so bear with me. Smile

I'm trying to build a beveled gear. I have the surface(s) of the gear where the teeth meet, and a truncated cone with a hole in it as the base (highlighted), but I can't figure out out the get the top & bottom of the teeth. Any help would be appreciated.

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/8840/gearj.jpg
Re: Rhino question; constructing gears [message #12803 is a reply to message #12802 ] Thu, 13 May 2010 14:36 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Dotsan  is currently offline Dotsan
Go to my shop
Hi, you should be able to loft the edges.
V

www.dotsan.com

www.dotsan.com
Re: Rhino question; constructing gears [message #12806 is a reply to message #12802 ] Thu, 13 May 2010 15:01 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar Youknowwho4eva  is currently offline Youknowwho4eva
Go to my shop
Shapie Expert
I work here
I don't know much about rhino, but in my software I'd draw a line between the 2 ends on both top and bottom, and create a boundary surface. Join into a solid, and boolean union with the base.

I learned a long time ago the wisest thing I can do is be on my own side, be an advocate for myself and others like me. -Maya Angelou
michael@shapeways.com Community Advocate
Re: Rhino question; constructing gears [message #12808 is a reply to message #12803 ] Thu, 13 May 2010 15:02 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar LatexSpikes  is currently offline LatexSpikes
Go to my shop