Now what ? :-)

Discussion in 'Newcomers Lounge' started by HyperForm, May 2, 2010.

1. HyperForm
    HyperForm Member
    Hi there,

I just registered to Shapeways and I would like to find out more about selling my models/designs. I read the FAQ but many questions still remain unanswered.

I'm a 3D modeler and I even had the opportunity to play around 3d printing (although those were always custom models for clients not objects/designs made for "stock" ), so obviously my questions are 'market' specific.

So the first question is what to model/upload. I can do basically anything, but would like to know what people actually buy? Some abstract sculptures, hobby related items, geek memorabilia ? :) I'm sure some people would like to buy game related figures, but as fas as I know there are some specialized companies doing this sort of thing already.

Another topic would be technical guidelines. For example how thin a "wall" of a model can be and generally how can I check how the structure behaves in real life. I would like to know if Shapeways can print the models "for a test".

Thanks

2. rawkstar320
    rawkstar320 Member
    First of all, welcome!

What to sell? anything and everything. If you want to specialize, you should...but keep in mind that it will require that you do a lot of advertising outside of shapeways. Something to keep in mind with shapeways buyers is that they are modelers(generally) that are (generally) capable of creating their own stuff...bluntly: they dont need you, or me, or any other shops.

Of course, that is very general. The reason I put it that way is because people buy things that they cant buy at the store. So you really have to put your thinking cap on for new designs and ideas.

Popular items that I have seen are puzzles, characters, jewelery and of course anything co-creator.