Home » Support » 3D Design » Help with sizing
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Help with sizing [message #11289] Wed, 31 March 2010 17:34 UTC Go to next message
avatar natholas  is currently offline natholas
Go to my shop
Hello, I am new to shapeways and i would like to have a ring printed that i made, the problem is that i am using blender and there is no really clear way to know what size the object is.. since it is a ring it has to be a precise size.

through uploading, viewing the size and then editing and uploading again i have got it to the right size but is a little confusing..

so my question is: how accurate are the sizes that they give you on the side and are they the dimensions of the file that they send you or is it the size of the object after they mess with it to make it printable also, in the image that they give u the object is at an angle, so are the dimensions that of the object at the angle that it is in the thumbnail or is it measured in the position that they send you?

thank you in advanced!
ps. the object that i am talking about is this http://www.shapeways.com/model/107643/bumpy_ring.html
Re: Help with sizing [message #11290 is a reply to message #11289 ] Wed, 31 March 2010 18:01 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar iguffick  is currently offline iguffick
Go to all my models
Blender does have units, but it does not allocate its units to a particular real life size.

You can decide for yourself that 1 blender unit = 1 cm, or 1 blender unit = 1m. You cannot set this association in the software, you just have to remember you are working in cm, inches, metres or whatever.

To figure out what size your model is, you can use the 'Edge Length' option in the 'Mesh Tools More' panel (when in edit mode). I tend to use a separate floating edge that I snap to any points I'm interested in. If the edge length shows 23 and you have decided to use 1 blender unit = 1cm, then the distance is 23cm.