Spheres and cilinders

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 643124_deleted, Oct 13, 2014.

1. Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I've been following Shapeways awesome technology for some time and I'd like to try a project of my own. Please bear in mind that I am very new to this.

I'm using Sketchup to create a model connecting spheres together using cilinders. But the model does not make a solid object. I use a nice little plugin called Solid Inspector that shows some problems with the model, but I don't know how to solve them reliably.

I think the spheres and the cilinders are not really wireframe objects (does that make sense?). Does anyone know a tutorial that shows how to transform a curved object into wireframe so that I can fix faces? I seem to be able to fix some faces of the spheres by drawing vertices, but then when I look at the object as a whole, there are a number of lines drawn onto the surface of the spheres and cilinders. It doesn't look right and it doesn't solve all the problems Solid Inspector points out.

I did look for tutorials and threads concerning spheres, on this forum, on Google and on YouTube, but without succes. Since I see quite a lot of people developing beautiful curved objects on this site, I thought this might be a classic beginner issue. Can someone help?

Thanks in advance. Best regards,

X

2. __DF__
    __DF__ Member
    What exactly you mean by saying "wireframe objects"? I can think of the following by now:
    1. You have a 3d model in Sketchup and you don't know how to view it in wireframe mode. (most 3D software offer the ability to view the same model in wireframe mode, solid mode and texture mode)
    2. Your 3D model's structure looks like it is consisted of a many solid wires, but it is not printable yet.

Do you have a screenshot?

3. Hey TF, thanks for your reply.