Getting off to a great start

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by emeraldshine, Jul 30, 2014.

1. emeraldshine
    emeraldshine Member
    Hi everyone, hope this is in the right place.

Ive been thinking of getting into 3d printing for some time now but never really looked into it too much. I recently came across a member who showed just what is possible with 3d printing and I have to say, Its awesome stuff. I am a long time toy collector and I would like to use 3d printing to create accessories for my collection, weapons, display bases, etc

I have a small amount of 3d experience but i am still a noob. I am using Maya 2014 to build my models but how can I ensure my models will scale correctly and work as intended. I am mainly looking to make weapons for 5 inch figures.

Also is it possible to use mudbox/Zbrush to build models for 3d printing? The reason I ask is, shapeways has a 1 million poly limit. I have been studying games art so I have been conditioned to keep poly count as low as possible since games cannot handle that many. Mudbox and Zbrush are great programs for building fanasticly detailed 3d sculptres comprised of hundreds of thousands of polys. Of course the more polys you have, the more detail you can add and make it look better..

Sorry for the noobish questions and I hope I was clear in what I was asking, Just want to get some info before I get too far into my model and find out Ive made a massive mistake and wasted my time.

Thanks

2. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member
    I've only used Maya for a very short time years ago, so I cannot say anything that relates to exact procedures, but one thing you can do is get Netfabb Basic, which is free, and use it to scale your creations using the scaling functions. The software is specifically designed to help facilitate 3D printing, so the output is designed for the real world.