What should I specify in requirements for a 3D designer?

Discussion in 'Design and Modeling' started by 554364_deleted, May 25, 2014.

1. I've got a picture in 2D that I'd like to get made as my first Shapeways model. I'm not a designer so I'll need to find a freelance designer on here or freelancer.com but I'm not sure what kind of skills I need to look for. How long and how much should I expect to pay for a 3D design of a 2D picture I have? What file(s) do I need to get from the designer to give to Shapeways?

2. HOLDEN8702
    HOLDEN8702 Well-Known Member
    Hi.

Nicest thing of shapeways is to have your own created dreamed models made real.

If you only want to have a model printed, you don't need to pay for the design and to upload it.

I can do your model and upload it in my shop, where it will be available to get it.

But if really you want to have the file to upload in shapeways under your user name, here is the files can be uploaded

https://www.shapeways.com/create?li=nav

I hope this helps you.

Best regards

Luis

3. I need the material to be produced by Shapeway and I assume I need a model (I'd like to keep the model file for myself), all I have is a picture. Are you a 3D designer?

4. HOLDEN8702
    HOLDEN8702 Well-Known Member
  5. samfleming
    samfleming Member
    I will try and answer your questions more directly here...

In general yes, your work can be reproduced from a 2D design. The challenge comes if you are trying to recreate something with critical dimensions - like a piece that needs to fit in to another. If its a piece that you can have more creative liberties with, and sizing does not have to be perfect, its less problematic working from a 2D starting point.