Best CAD software for organic sculpture

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 219316_deleted, Apr 8, 2014.

1. I want to purchase and learn a CAD program so I can create my own sculpture for printing. I don't know any CAD programs now but I develop software for a living so I learn new programs all the time. What CAD package would be best suited for the following requirements?

Type of work:
    I will be creating curved organic form sculpture. I will never be doing machine type assemblies and sub assemblies.

Learning Curve:
    I know any package will have a steep learning curve but I have been told some packages may require 4 steps to do a task where as a package built on a more modern framework can do it in 1 step. I am willing to learn but I will not be using it every day for work so it can't be to complicated.

Cost:
    Open source would be preferred but I can probably go up a $500 usd or so if there is a compelling reason. I am also a part time student and have been told some vendors offer student discounts.

Thanks everyone!
    Harlan

2. HOLDEN8702
    HOLDEN8702 Well-Known Member
    Hi, Harlan.

Sculptris from pixologic is free, easy to use and funny to work with.

I've got good results with it:

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

If you have any doubts or issues, please ask me.

Regards and good luck!

Luis

3. Thanks Luis! Sculptris looks amazing I am watching some you tube videos of it now and it seems to be just what I was looking for. I will download it and give it it a try.

Many thanks
    Harlan

4. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member
    Nice sculpts Luis!

The other answer you'll get is Zbrush, which is also from Pixologic. They offer an educational license for around $450.

Zbrush is a lot harder to learn than Sculptris, but you can do LOT more with it.

5. HOLDEN8702
    Thanks, James. I have the luck of being proud of my work.

And yes, Zbrush may have many more interesting tools than the simpliest sculptris.