3D Printing Suction Cups And Suction Grips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 506080_deleted, Mar 1, 2014.

1. I work in a factory that uses extensive automation. Most of our end-of-arm tooling is suction-based... suction cups, grippers, discs and other shapes. The cost of these items add up over the year, we would like investigate the possibility of developing the technology to print replacements on demand.

This also opens up the ability to make new non-stock-shape cups and grippers to enhance production too.

What I am looking for is information on rubber or rubber-like materials (silicone, elastomer, soft-PVC and so forth) and general design considerations for such. Especially minimum thicknesses! I don't want to design a knife-edge part only to find that it can't be printed.

Can anyone advise or point me in the right direction?

2. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    Queue up the cheesy music:
    This might be a job for Elasto Plastic

The rest of the Shapeways materials are too rigid/brittle to make suction cups.

3. stannum
    stannum Well-Known Member
    From near end of page:
    and it's easy to assume that suction devices must be airtight...

4. UniverseBecoming
    UniverseBecoming Well-Known Member
    I would disregard the watertight statement and give it a try. From my experiences with the material it is watertight and would work for your application. It's not a solid, like say, cast silicone would be, it's more like, ummm... think sugar cube. It has porosity, but in thicker walls, say beyond 3 mm, it is solid enough to do what you want to do. Maybe it wouldn't work 100% of the time in a leak down test situation, given the random nature of the porosity, but in pick and place type applications it would work perfectly I feel.