Home » Support » Buying » Question from a complete newbie: price for complex designs
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Question from a complete newbie: price for complex designs [message #83163] Tue, 14 January 2014 12:08 UTC Go to next message
avatar Northen69er  is currently offline Northen69er
Go to all my models
Hello all,

just came here and opened an account. I have a question that might be frustratingly simple for any old user here, but I tried to first google for an answer and didn't really find the answer I was looking for.

So then, here comes. I am mostly interested in printing metal parts. Small metal parts. I just don't yet understand the pricing.

So the price is determined by cubic centimeters. But how is the volume calculated? Suppose we have a design that looks something like a credit card. Suppose it has lots of holes in it.

Now if it is, say, two millimeters thick, is the volume calculated simply as 2mm X length X width? OR is every single internal hole deducted also, thus reducing the price of the design?

I guess that sums up my first query pretty well. So, if we continue with the idea... if we make the design fatter, but keep all the holes... what if it looks something like a cooling element of a computer... if the size becomes, let's say, one hundred millimeters thickness X credit card width X credit card length... of course it will be much cheaper if all the holes inside are NOT counted in the material price.

I hope I made myself clear. This must all be very obvious to designers with a little bit of experience, but since I have none I do not have insight into the matter.

[Updated on: Tue, 14 January 2014 12:14 UTC]

Re: Question from a complete newbie: price for complex designs [message #83164 is a reply to message #83163 ] Tue, 14 January 2014 12:39 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar mkroeker  is currently offline mkroeker
Go to all my models
Shapie Expert