Home » Community » It arrived! » Tree Pendant - My Very First 3D Printed Creation
Search Search  
Show: Today's Messages    Show Polls    Message Navigator
Tree Pendant - My Very First 3D Printed Creation [message #81290] Sat, 14 December 2013 17:53 UTC Go to next message
avatar ChipMatthews  is currently offline ChipMatthews
Go to my shop
I've been doing 3D and computer graphics for 20 years and this is the first time I've ever been able to hold one of my creations in my hand. It's a real thrill for me, and the Shapeways gang did a terrific job of bringing it to life. I sculpted this in 3D-Coat and then sized it and did the final export from 3ds Max. Since this was my first experiment with 3D printing, I ordered a variety of materials to be able to get a better sense of the capabilities of the various printing methods. The results exceeded my expectations. Here's the pics I did of them.

First up is raw brass and raw silver. I'm amazed by how much of the detail was retained - even the subtle bark texture.

http://i.imgur.com/3ayH4an.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/wy0S2Ys.jpg

Here's polished nickel steel. A lot of the detail is lost but for this design the finish looks pretty cool, especially from a distance.

http://i.imgur.com/g1Sy1t1.jpg

Finally, here's white detail plastic. The loop for the chain didn't print so I decided to antique it and make it into a pin.

http://i.imgur.com/mJWYnAK.jpg

Here's the plastic one after I antiqued it.

http://i.imgur.com/ZpNSyK6.jpg

[Updated on: Sat, 14 December 2013 17:54 UTC]

Re: Tree Pendant - My Very First 3D Printed Creation [message #81295 is a reply to message #81290 ] Sat, 14 December 2013 18:24 UTC Go to previous messageGo to next message
avatar seriaforma  is currently offline seriaforma
Go to my shop
Very nice. I love seeing the material comparison. What did you use to antique the WSF?