The Laboratory - Tie Bars!

Discussion in 'My Shapeways Order Arrived' started by Dr_B, Nov 2, 2013.

1. Dr_B
    Dr_B Member
    Hi all! I've been a long-time Shapie and I'd very much like to announce the opening of my new shop! I'm launching The Laboratory with five unique and awesome tie bars with many more to come!

[​IMG]

A little about me, I'm a medical student. Generally, this means stress (and fun!). To de-stress, I love to sit down and create things. 3D modeling has been my outlet for many years now, with and without Shapeways. However, I much prefer to model items for Shapeways now. It's incredible to me that I can sit down at my computer with an idea and turn that idea into something I can hold in my hand.

[​IMG]

My inspiration tends to come from what I know: medicine, science, nature/biology, and technology. But, I'm a long-time geek so expect to see some geek-chic peppered in there too. The designs I currently have on the go (on paper at least) mostly run under the medicine/science banner but there are sure to be more as I work through the 22 tie bars I have sketched out; I also have a couple cool co-creator ideas that I'm really excited about. I would like to post a new item every week. Normally, I don't think that will be a problem but I have end-of-year exams in three weeks so I'm going to be pretty tight on time :) I'll certainly be able to do so during December/January as I'm off school for two months.

[​IMG]

I really hope you folks like what I'm doing here. Please let me know what you think and tell your friends! I'm very much open to suggestions, ideas, comments, criticism, etc :) You can't grow if you don't listen.

[​IMG]

Finally, a big thanks to Shapeways and the rest of you for being such an inspiring community! It's a special thing to have a company that cares so much for those who use their service and, perhaps even more special, to have a design community that wholeheartedly support and nutures those in its midst.