My first Blender project

Discussion in 'Design and Modeling' started by 366994_deleted, Oct 14, 2013.

1. I am still learning how to use Blender, I don't know that I will ever get it to the point of printing my first project but it would be cool if I do. From what I gather I still need to figure out how to close all my shapes that have open areas, and connect all the shapes before it can be printed. I am sure there are other things that need done too that will keep me from ever printing it.

Its a spaceship with gravity domes for (Passenger,Animal,Plant comfort) during its voyage.
    It has gravity both while Accelerating or (Coasting,Orbiting) due to its dual orientated position domes.
    I don't know if in a print the gravity domes could really move but it would be cool. Some sort of hinge would need to be added, along with the dome support leafs moving along too and that's way beyond my abilities.

LINK: It is a Spaceship model with gravity and living domes. Blender file at Google Drive

Play with it if you want. If your able to fix its printing issues let me know. I would love to see it printed.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 15, 2013
  2. stonysmith
    stonysmith Well-Known Member Moderator
    A good bit of the answer depends upon how large you want to make the item.
    If you keep the planet and the ring, then the spaceship will disappear because it's so small.

If you remove the planet, ring, and moon, keeping only the spaceship, the support posts have too small of a diameter, and the logo is going to disappear.

Then, the tiny antenna on the top, and the engine nozzles are not "closed", the big end of each cone is open, and you will need to fix that.
    The base platform above the engine nozzles needs to be thicker. and the top antenna is too small.