Poor quality

Discussion in 'My Shapeways Order Arrived' started by 414125_deleted, Sep 20, 2013.

1. This is my first time using Shapeways and I'm disappointed. Was I expecting too much?

I used Frosted Detail Plastic (FDP) and have the following issues with the model that arrived:

- it is oily. I thought that the oil was supposed to have been cleaned off in a sonic bath. Does that not do a thorough job? It can't be painted as is;

- all over, the object is like very fine sandpaper which I guess is just the characteristics of FDP (which I would not describe as "high smoothness" as per the web page), but in places the model is very rough, like a rasp;

- my design is of inter-connected, hollow pipes. In a few places where the pipes join, they are blocked. These are not narrow, the diameter of one of the blockages is almost 1cm. I've re-checked the STL file and there are no such blockages.

2. mkroeker
    mkroeker Well-Known Member
    I have not tried the FD/FUD material myself, but the oil/wax residue issue has been reported by many others here in the forum.
    It would indeed help if shapeways mentioned it on the materials page, which quite to the contrary seems to emphasize the thoroughness with which models are cleaned. (And the "high smoothness" might be a bit misleading for people not used to printed plastics - it is probably much finer grained
    than the WSF, but still not as smooth as one would expect from experience with "normal" (injection-molded) plastic household items)
    Check the Post Production Techniques forum for tips on cleaning and painting FD/FUD models - the most recent three pages already contain several pertinent threads. A "typical" procedure seems to be to remove the oil/wax with warm soapy water or bestine (heptane), then either scrape off the rough bits with a modeler knife or coat it with filler and sand it down before painting with acrylics.